Out of obedience and love.

“I do not require you to be successful, I only require you to just try to be faithful.”

I was in the middle of my law school (on my second year at that) when the Lord had spoken to me in one of the conferences I attended, he said ” Step out in your comfort zone, be radical and serve me.”

See the source image

A quick background, I have been in a personal relationship with the Lord since I encountered Him through a Catholic Movement in the Philippines called Christ’s Youth in Action (CYA) on 2014 when I was still in second year AB Political Science student in MSU-IIT. Since then to now I have been an active servant in CYA and is currently volunteering as a part-time staffer of CYA while being a law student in MSU College of Law.

Back when I was still on my discernment before my college graduation, I have been praying for my career or student path after college and the Lord assured me that I am for law school. I am certain that it was His will for me as it is where I also felt the most peace. So I decided to enroll myself in a law school in the same city as where I finished my undergraduate studies.

But this year is a twist of faith. I just ended my exams and requirement to officially bid goodbye to second year law when the Lord spoke to me in my prayer time that He is calling me to become a fulltime missionary of CYA. To fully put out myself into the deep and just trust His hands and never doubt. But whilst those assurances and reoccurring messages, I still contained doubts about His plans in my life. Not until I was slapped by a message from John 4:24.

“My food is to do the will of Him who sent me, and to accomplish His work.” – John 4:34

This verse greatly reminds me of obedience to do His will, regardless of the rejection, confusion and doubts. I got this message from the book: “The Father I Never Met”  it is about the life of a servant whose life is well lived and well remembered because he chose to follow the Lord’s will out of obedience.

Because of this, I became certain that it is the Lord who called me for such a time as this and I know that those whom He called, He will enable and equip. I trust that He who called me is faithful and that everything falls according to His timeline. I may not understand His plans now, and everything might seem to make no sense at all, but I am rest in knowing that His will is better than mine and obedience to Him will create a ripple of change in my life and to those I surround.

I have decided to follow the Lord as a fulltime missionary because I know I will be making this decision out of obedience and it is also the decision where my heart felt the most peace. I am excited to embark on the adventure waiting for me in this road I have taken.

This decision is done out of obedience to the will of the Father and love for Him as He loved me first.

So to you who is on the crossroad of making a big decision, I hope that choose to follow the option that pleases the Lord most – the one that will bring you the most peace. Do it out of obedience and love.

Leave a comment